Boy Scout Advancement

Boy Scout Adv


Boy Scouting provides a series of tasks and steps, which a boy must overcome to progress through the advancement method. The Boy Scout plans his advancement and progresses at his own pace as he meets each challenge. The Boy Scout is rewarded for each achievement, which helps him gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Boy Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others.


A variety of opportunities are available to Boy Scouts, including outdoor high adventure, camping excursions, lifesaving, first aid and personal fitness challenges. It is within this program, that a Scout can work toward his Eagle Scout award - which is deemed the highlight of most boys' Scouting careers. Unlike Cub Scouting, Boy Scout rank advancement does not depend on a Scout's age. Every new Scout starts at the same point - the Scout badge. Starting a few years after his peers does not make it impossible for a Boy Scout to earn the Eagle Scout award.


For current and up-to-date information about Boy Scout Advancement, follow this link.


Four Steps of Advancement


A Boy Scout advances from Tenderfoot to Eagle by doing things with his patrol and his troop, with his leaders, and on his own. It's easy for him to advance if the following four opportunities are provided for him.  


The Boy Scout Learns
A Scout learns by doing. As he learns, he grows in ability to do his part as a member of the patrol and the troop. As he develops knowledge and skill, he is asked to teach others; and in this way he begins to develop leadership.


The Boy Scout is Tested
A Scout may be tested on rank requirements by his patrol leader, Scoutmaster, assistant Scoutmaster, a troop committee member, or a member of his troop. The Scoutmaster maintains a list of those qualified to give tests and to pass candidates. The Scout's merit badge counselor teaches and tests on the requirements for merit badges.


The Boy Scout is Reviewed
After a Scout has completed all requirements for a rank, he has a board of review. For Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle Palms, the review is conducted by members of the troop committee. The Eagle Scout board of review is conducted in accordance with local council procedures.


The Boy Scout is Recognized
When the board of review has certified a boy's advancement, he deserves to receive recognition as soon as possible. This should be done at a ceremony at the next troop meeting. The certificate for his new rank may be presented later at a formal court of honor.


(No council, district, unit or individual has the authority to add to or subtract from any advancement requirement. A Boy Scout badge recognizes what a boy is able to do; it is not a reward for what he has done).



Stem and NOVA Star

STEM is part of an initiative the Boy Scouts of America has taken on to encourage the natural curiosity of youth members and their sense of wonder about these fields through existing programs. From archery to welding, Scouts can't help but enjoy the wide range of STEM-related activities. To support this initiative, the BSA developed the Nova Awards program so that youth members have fun and receive recognition for their efforts.


The NOVA & Supernova Awards have taken pieces out of each program (i.e. Boy Scouts) to highlight each topic (science, technology, engineering & math). The Scout completes requirements in each category, and first earns a patch, and subsequently can earn 3 more pins. The Supernova program builds upon this, even further. Scouts can come away with increased interest and awareness of STEM in the world around them.


For more information about these awards, follow this link.


Council Activity Segments


The council has a variety of segments that youth can earn for different activities. The PDF files below show the segment and list the requirements for earning the segment.


To download a copy of the Cascade Pacific Council Activity Segments list, click here.


Other Awards Boy Scouts Can EarnWorld Conservation Award


Besides the normal progression of Boy Scout ranks, Boy Scouts may earn other individual awards, including the 50-Miler Award, Leave No Trace, Mile Swim BSA, Paul Bunyan Woodsman, Religious Emblems, World Conservation Award, and Den Chief Service Award.


For more information about these awards, follow this link.


Awards For Your Patrol and Troop to Earn


Just as Boy Scouts can earn individual awards for themselves, they can also work together to earn awards for their whole and their troop. Getting together to work on these awards is a great way to practice teamwork and to show every Boy Scout how important he is as a member of his troop.  Your unit could earn awards like the National Honor Patrol Award, Ready & Prepared Award, 100% Boys' Life Unit Award, Scouting's Journey to Excellence Award, and the William T. Hornaday Unit Award.


For more information about these awards, follow this link.



See some inaccurate information on this page? Please feel free to send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with information on what should be corrected. Thanks -

page last updated on: 6/11/2013